Be a loyal visitor by joining our Telegram channel! Join Now

What Happens When You Factory Reset Your iPhone?

- Advertisement -

Factory resetting your iPhone can be very useful if you are selling it or giving it away. In some cases, you may want to clear all data on your iPhone to give it a fresh experience (get rid of all files, apps, contacts, and many more).

In this article, we will look at how to reset your iPhone, whether it is an iPhone 13, 12, 11, X, or any other model.

Why do you need to factory reset your iPhone?

It is a very good idea to factory reset your phone but not all situations need it. Below are some of the reasons that may require you to factory reset your iPhone.

  1. You may need a factory reset if you are selling your phone to someone.
  2. You can also factory reset your iPhone if you are giving it away either to a friend, relative, or any other person.
  3. When you want to get rid of all data on your iPhone including media files, contacts, documents, installed apps, and others.
  4. You can reset your iPhone when you realize your device is acting strange; like running slow.

Read Also: Best Sounds to get Water out of Phone

- Advertisement -

What happens when you factory reset your iPhone

iPhone has two main reset methods, one is resetting all content and settings and the other is resetting only the phone’s settings.

Resetting All Content and Settings will wipe all data on your device, including your photos, videos, documents, and any other personal files. It will also reset the settings and remove apple ID and find my device from your device like a brand new phone. To choose this option, you are advised to backup your data to avoid losing your important data.

- Advertisement -

Choosing the Reset option also changes the settings of your device to their default settings. You can also choose the kind of settings you want to reset like the network settings, home screen layout, keyboard dictionary, and location and privacy.

- Advertisement -

Before you reset your phone make sure you back up your data on iCloud, computer, or anywhere you can retrieve them because this action will wipe all your data.

Step by Step Guide to Factory Reset your iPhone (Method 1)

  1. Open Settings on your iPhone.
  2. Scroll to General from the settings option.
  3. From the General option, tap on Transfer or Reset iPhone.
  4. Tap on Reset All Content and Settings.
  5. This will wipe all your data, remove your apple ID and Find My Device activation.
  6. Enter your Pin Code.
  7. Wait for your data to be uploaded to iCloud.
  8. Enter your iCloud password to confirm your action.
  9. Wait for your phone to restart.

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone Using Your Computer (Method 2)

  1. Connect your iPhone to the computer, and make sure you have iTunes installed and configured.
  2. Click on Allow on your iPhone, if you are asked Whether you trust the computer.
  3. If you are using macOS open finder, else open iTunes if you are a Windows OS user.
  4. From the sidebar, click on your iPhone.
  5. Click on Restore iPhone.
  6. Confirm by clicking on Restore iPhone.
  7. Wait for some time for your device to be reset.

The video below may also help.

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -